Cheers to 2015.

I kept going back and forth on whether I wanted to do a recap of 2014 post // a ringing in 2015 post. I really considered whether this post was meant for my personal journal of passionate orations, rather than a public announcement of my year.

So instead, I give you an abridged version that suitable for the mass public.

2014 – What I Planned

This past year was all kinds of confusion. I swore off guys and said I would focus on my career. I wanted to travel more and explore more cities. I’ve always been a fan of coffee and was dependent on it, but my goal for 2014 was to explore more local roasters. 2014 was the year I wanted to run away from everything; it was the year I developed a fondness of staying in with a candle lit and actually reading the books I purchased. I planned on exploring a lot outside of my comfort zone, but I also wanted more time to myself instead of spreading myself too thin.

2014 – What Actually Happened

I still focused on my career. I stepped outside of my “southern comfort zone,” and left Texas to pursue an internship in the Bay Area. I explored more local coffee shops in Austin and Dallas – roasters too. I traveled more than I have ever traveled, even if it was only domestic flights.

During this year alone, I have traveled to:

Charleston, SC
San Francisco, CA
Seattle, WA
Scottsdale, AZ
Washington, D.C.
Ann Arbor, MI

And I plan on traveling even more soon; I’m flying to Atlanta, GA in 2 weeks to do my first epic road trip with a close friend (brother from another mother) to Knoxville, Memphis, and Nashville, TN.

I said I wasn’t going to pursue a love life, but instead, I found my first love. He’s pretty cool.

I held my close friends even closer. When I first started college, friendships to me meant hanging out with as many people as you could. Now, as a 22-year-old senior in college, I’ve learned that it’s about quality, not quantity. My 22nd birthday dinner consisted of a small group of friends that I have known since freshman year that I frequently spend time with.

I started to appreciate my family more. For the first time in a long time, I truly missed my family when I was at school. I went months without seeing them and it scared me that I almost made a mistake on accepting a full-time offer outside of Texas.

I networked more and discovered just how small the tech/startup community in Austin was. I have to give credit to my budding entrepreneur friends for all the intros given. I was able to finish up my term as a Career and Alumni Relations Chair for Communication Council with startup CEO speakers solely on intros from them. I also have to credit internal referrals for a lot of the internship offers and job interviews I had this year on people I’ve met – the generic job applications online weren’t as helpful. I learned that organic methods of applying for jobs in tandem with sending in required documents had a greater success rate.

In 2014, I had one of the best and one of the worst internships. If you know me well, you know which falls where. I learned to grow a thicker skin and think on my feet in a management environment. If I had to choose one main skill I learned in the internship world this year, it would be trusting your team. The concept of a team is drilled into our heads through group projects, but you don’t realize just how important it is until you experience it first hand. The teams I managed, the team I currently work with and the teams I will become a part of in the near future – trust and accountability are necessary.

2015

I kicked off the new year with old and new friends at a small gathering that lasted until 4:00 am – it was lovely. Between glasses of champagne and laughter, I think it was worth the lack of sleep and tired eyes this morning – coffee will cure anything.

This will be the year that I will squeeze as much time as I can with my close friends and hopefully make a handful of new ones. I’m heading out to work full-time in San Francisco, CA in a position I have virtually no experience to the naked eye.

I plan on learning as much as I can because I’ve accepted that even though I will graduate from a top university, I still know very little about the real world. I still have way more to learn than what I have learned from past internships or coursework. After all, who I was at 18 entering college was completely different from who I am today.

2015 is supposed to be the year that I experience adulthood and the real world for the first time. This should be an interesting adventure, but I’m glad I have a support system to help me through it all.

Cheers to you, 2015 – here’s to more adventures.

Leave a Reply

