Intelligence is Still Sexy

If you follow me on Twitter or any social media platform for that matter, you’ll notice I share a lot of articles and I enjoy reading articles others share. Recently, Elite Daily wrote an article titled, “Ladies, the Smarter You are, the More Likely You Are to be Single.”

From the title alone, I was a bit annoyed, but I was hopeful that this would be a satirical article that laughs at generalizations men have towards women when it comes to dating. My hope was flushed down the drain.

The article starts out with a few cliches on how hard it is to date nowadays and then moves towards some citations for a modern man’s opinion on what he wants in a woman.

In an article by “The Wire,” financial reporter, John Carney, gives one explanation for this phenomenon, deducing, “successful men date less successful women not because they want ‘women to be dumb’ but rather because they want ‘someone who prioritizes their life in a way that’s compatible with how you prioritize yours.’”

It then proceeds to say that men want a woman who “isn’t ever going to let her career come before making dinner and pleasing them first.”

WHOA. OKAY. Let’s just generalize the entire male population. I get it. Everyone likes being spoiled once in a while. Yes, I have cooked for my boyfriend and frankly, I do enjoy it. But here’s a shocker: he actually supports my future goals and career moves. Actually, last time I checked, a healthy relationship is one where two people care enough about each other to want to support each other. Yes, the romantic gestures are cute, but I’m pretty sure you can accomplish romantic gestures on top of surprise: both being successful people.

Then, the article moves forward to start generalizing the modern female population and their choice in a significant other:

There’s an epidemic of settling in this generation. Women everywhere are dipping far below their standards just to find men who appreciate them. They are giving up things they thought they wanted for nothing more than a simple “he’s good to me.”

Contrary to popular belief, we don’t settle. There is a someone for everyone, even if that someone is yourself. There are guys I could not see myself dating, but I could see my friends dating. If I were to date them, am I settling? No. We’re just not compatible. It’s that simple.

And then we have the Mrs. Degree:

Unfortunately, for all those women who thought a man would come later, other women capitalized on their youth, snatching up all the boyfriends and husbands while they focused on building their careers.

I’m sorry. I’m not sorry I want to be financially stable before tying the knot. Sure, marriage at an early age is fine for some, but it’s not for everyone. To me, on my personal belief, marriage is forever. I’m too young and mentally immature to know how to commit to someone forever. That’s a huge decision.

And capitalization of youth? If a man is only interested in forever with me because of my youthful appearance, we might have a problem. Because I’m pretty sure I’m going to put on some pounds during pregnancy and develop a lot of wrinkles with age – maybe even sprinkle in some grey hairs.

And then the article ends with the comparison that “Big minds are like big balls.” At first I thought the article would finally redeem itself and say something witty like, “damn girl, you have a sexy mind.” Nope.

You may be sensitive, sweet and insecure, but your intelligence makes you threatening. You may not have muscles and a big d*ck, but men will look at you as competition.

You are intimidating and emasculating. While most intelligent women aren’t pompous or arrogant about it, many times men assume they are. They assume the woman is going to correct them, upstage them or, God-forbid, make them feel worthless.

Maybe I’m just basing my views towards a small sample of equally intelligent couples that I know, but I’m pretty sure none of my friends’ boyfriends feel worthless or insecure that their girlfriend is brilliant. I’m also sure that in the corporate world, the majority of people are brilliant and are seen as competition in some manner. You can either learn from the people who are smarter than you or you can sit there. If I meet a person who is smarter than I am in a topic, I want to learn from them.

So, in short, Lauren Martin, I hope you scroll through the comments section of your article and realize that intelligence is sexy and sure hope your article was a complete joke.

Leave a Reply

