#Internlife: But I’m from Texas

Amazon_Logo

Two flight delays, one long layover and a TSA search of my luggage later, I landed on California soil. Publicly, I acted calm, but inside I was terrified out of my mind. I must have texted a handful of people to inform them of my arrival and fear – all of which assured me that everything would be fine. They were right. I picked up my rental car, slightly embarrassed myself as I dragged my heavy luggage across the floor and headed to the apartment. Because of the delayed flights, I moved in later than expected. Thankfully, the apartment was about 99 percent set up for me. During my first day in Intern Land, I learned a few things about California:

  • There is only one decent country station
  • Saying y’all causes looks of confusion
  • An angry suburban mom is angrier here than in Texas
  • My washer/dryer is in an awkwardly placed closet on my patio
  • I need to hunt down a microwave
  • Motorcycles can weave in between cars like it’s not dangerous (when it totally is)
  • Speed limits away from large cities are much lower. Hello 55-65 mph
  • This city is really split between typical suburb and not-so-nice side of town
  • There’s a Starbucks and liquor store on every corner

My second day started with a trip to the local Catholic church for Sunday morning mass. For the most part, it was the same as mass at home. However, the amount of kneeling was fewer, which confused me a bit. Tomorrow I start my first day at work bright and early – 7 a.m. PST to be exact. It’s going to be a long week, but knowing that I’m going to learn a lot and end the week with Friday off to get to know some cool fellow interns keeps me going.

P.S. I’m the only girl, but these guys are pretty cool – intern brothers? Maybe.

For the next 10 weeks, I will document my experiences via the blog in a series called #internlife. If you follow me on any form of social media, you have seen me use this hashtag many times, so it’s only fitting I make it a series for my second major summer internship.

Hang tight, it’s going to be a bumpy ride, but adventure awaits.

Leave a Reply

