Print Media Isn’t Dead Yet.

Image: The University of Sydney

Image: The University of Sydney

Every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, I have a 9:00 a.m. geology class in the new liberal arts building. Why in the world my science class is located in a liberal arts building, I will never understand. Although it’s far trek from my apartment to the building, I go because 1) I like to think I’m a good student and 2) I get to grab a free copy of The New York Times when I leave. Don’t get me wrong, I love online media and I use social media platforms and online versions of The Wallstreet Journal to get my daily dose of news, but there is just something about holding a paper in hand that makes me feel like I’m one of those scholarly east coast professors at a coffee shop. For some reason, I think holding a paper and being informed about current events is rather…sexy.

Since the invention of the printing press, the main form of spreading news has been print media. To all those broadcast journalists out there, I do realize the importance of the local news and I appreciate all the news that is given during nightly slots, but I don’t always have time to sit down at exactly 5:00 p.m. to watch the news – actually, that’s when I get off work. I like a combination of print and online media to be informed about what is going locally, nationally, and globally. Which brings me to another point, I don’t read just conservative or liberal publications, I read both to get a better perspective on both sides of the story.

I digress; back to the original topic up for discussion. Print media isn’t dead yet. People may be embracing new technologies such as ebook readers like the Amazon Kindle or Barnes & Noble Nook, but they’re still pricey. Sure, you can pile various types of publications onto one portable ebook reader, but print media is, at the end of the day, very nostalgic. Growing up my father always woke up, made himself a cup of slow drip Cafe du Monde coffee and read the newspaper. Even though the newspaper he was reading was in Vietnamese, it still presented the local and global news.

From a public relations standpoint, I still believe in print media. As much as I enjoy seeing a tweet about a story I have pitched to a journalist, nothing makes me happier than seeing a full page article about a story I pitched. Nothing beats seeing the smiling faces my “clients” on the front page of a publication. And of course, there is a sense of credibility that comes with print media. Blogs, although growing in status, for the most part, don’t live up to the same standards set by print media. I am more likely to trust what is printed in the WSJ than on a random blog search.

Although funds for print media is a great concern, I still believe it will stay around for a while. It’s not dead just yet, and until I am about 10 years into my professional career, I think print media producers should fight through it and present their news. I support print media, I support journalists who are passionate about print news, and I say, keep calm, fight on.

Leave a Reply

