The new place.

Ralph Lauren cardigan, Johnny Cotton top, necklace via Macy's.

Ralph Lauren cardigan, Johnny Cotton top, necklace via Macy’s.

Do you see this face? This is the face of a really happy intern. When I initially accepted the position, I was afraid I had made the wrong decision. You see, I’ve always told myself I was going to consistently work in-house for technology/engineering companies and maybe intern once for an agency/firm senior year before graduating, just to say I had that “experience.” However, when I saw the opening for this particular firm, I knew I wanted it. For one, the manager is a fellow University of Texas Longhorn and she’s been my mentor since the beginning of my freshman year, so I guess you could say I was a bit biased. At the end of my various interviews, I turned down the up and coming medium-sized tech giant for the boutique marketing and communications agency.

I kept telling myself that I knew what it was like to be an aspiring public relations professional, but in reality, I didn’t. I didn’t know what it was like to have to adapt to several clients and wear different hats within the course of just a day; I didn’t know the foundations that would lead to success within the industry. In the past two days alone, I have learned more about media research, Cision, press release writing, and juggling different accounts than I ever thought I would. If the past two days are any indication for the rest of the semester, I am beyond excited.

Coming back early just to start my internship was worth it. Here’s to a wonderful semester of learning and discovery.

One comment

  1. Hi V.T.!

    First, we love your fashion sense 🙂 Secondly, it’s great that you’re chronicling your schooling and internship! We love your passion. We’re glad you’re using our services, and be sure to let us know if you have questions! In the meantime, Cision.com has some continuting education and other treats for students and professionals!

    Have a great evening 🙂
    Best,
    Lisa
    Cision NA
    Social Media Manager


Leave a Reply

