In which I could possibly make a fool of myself.

For the past few days I’ve been waking up at odd hours, just in time to watch Sex & the City reruns. Which, has got me conjuring up potential blog posts about my love life and my views towards “the one” and all that nonsense. I’m pretty sure this blog post isn’t even appropriate or even pertains to anything under “industry” and is barely “conversation,” but what the hell, it’s my blog – here’s my passionate oration, as a friend has kindly put it.

What is love?

I am a 20-year-old college student, I have no idea what love is. I haven’t experienced love first-hand, and I don’t expect to any time soon. I throw around the words “I love you!” to my friends all the time, but I use it as a term of endearment, not as a passionate expression of my feelings. I would be crazy to call myself an expert on love or anything relatively close to it. But, what is love? To me, love is something that takes time. It requires learning the quirks about a person and embracing every single one of them. Obviously, love is not perfect, it has its flaws – flaws that one learns to love in the other person.

What I described is love between two people, but what is the other “love” in this life? Love is the beautiful bond between a parent and child. The joking fights between siblings and making up via a warm embrace. It’s the comforts of home and opening gifts on Christmas day, cooking with my mother and wondering if the food will turn out right, having coffee and conversation with my father, and staying up late on a Saturday night to watch bad reruns with my brother. That my friends, is the other love, and the only true love I have experienced – and I am perfectly content with that.

#ForeverAlone

Okay, I admit, I am guilty of such a comment on Twitter. Yes, I have had my fair share of moments when I hear my friends talk about their successful first, second, and third dates with someone special and found myself wishing I could be in their shoes. Contrary to popular belief, I am okay with being alone because one day, that alone will become a “together.”

Love at first sight.

I don’t believe in it. Call me crazy, but I really don’t. Call me a pessimist, but I believe I am a realist. Don’t hate me; I won’t hate you for believe that there is such a thing as seeing someone and immediately falling for them. I don’t blame you; part of me wishes it were true too. The media has engrained it into our minds from a very young age that there is a Prince Charming or Night in Shining Armor out there ready to sweep us off our feet and out of our misery into a glamorous life. Well Cinderella, like everything in life, I believe that if you want something, you have to work for it over time. Rome wasn’t built in a day, and neither is a successful relationship. That’s probably why all of mine have been so short-lived.

Am I waiting?

Yes and no. I am not going to sit around waiting for my Prince Charming to come, but I am also not going out there and hunting down men, hoping that they’ll take one look at me. If you’re interested, tell me; odds are I will most likely at least give you a first date – everyone deserves a chance. After all, I believe in conversation – the physical aspects will come later. I believe that right now I am going to focus on my studies and building a strong foundation that will hopefully lead to a successful career. And if somewhere along the way, the right guy comes along, that’d be pretty darn cool too; we can be awkward and nerd out together.

Leave a Reply

