Plain Jane.

It’s been a while since I’ve done an outfit post, so it’s only fitting that I present to you two outfits: yesterday’s and today’s.

TJ Maxx top, J.Crew bottoms, J.Crew belt, Lucky Brand watch

I spent the entire morning running errands for the parents and checking items off my to-do list that I have been dreading to do since I have been home. The high in Dallas today is going to be a blazing 106 degrees with a heat advisory. As much as I want to flaunt this outfit around town, it’s just not reasonable, so I’ll be back to sporting Nike shorts and a school t-shirt after I finish posting this. However, I am a strong believer in the fact that a good outfit goes a long way. I don’t feel like I’m ready to start the day unless I’m in a presentable outfit. I will probably spend the rest of the day finishing up my online economics assignments and working out. Thanks to the lovely not-so-diet I had this summer that consisted of not-so-healthy food and eating at odd hours, I have managed to gain a few pounds that I am more than happy to lose before the semester begins.

I spent most of yesterday wandering through Addison, TX with my best friend. The outfit was fairly simple: Nordstrom BP blouse, J.Crew shorts, postal stamp earrings that my lovely friend made me, and a Coach swing bag. We started our adventure with a quick bite of pizza and house salad at Pastazios. The food itself was pretty good and the combo after tax was about $7.52, so the price wasn’t too bad considering the combo consisted of a large slice of New York style pizza, a reasonably sized salad, and a drink. Unfortunately, the service wasn’t all that great. You see, when I walk into a restaurant that isn’t busy on a Sunday afternoon, I would assume the attention given to customers is more friendly. However, my friend and I paid for our meal, and then they forgot to give us our pizza; thus resulting us not getting our full combo until 15 minutes after we ordered and paid. Then, there was the whole not smiling and several workers casually sitting in a corner with their girlfriends chatting it up. I don’t know whether it’s because the atmosphere is supposed to be incredibly laid back, or they were just being unprofessional. Needless to say, I’m not offended, I just expected better. We then headed to several parks including a lovely one with a beautiful fountain that was located among a sea of corporate offices on Quorum Rd.

Long story short, I’m kind of obsessed with this fountain. It’s like an escape away from all the hustle and bustle of corporate life. The best thing about it is that you can walk down into the fountain and immerse yourself with the sounds of water flowing – it’s absolutely beautiful. If I lived in the condos next to this little park, I would take full advantage of this quaint little park. It’s not huge, but it’s large enough to have a picnic, run around, or just quietly sit and read.

I’m a sucker for aesthetically pleasing natural scenery. So of course, it was only natural that I took a few Instagram shots; trust me, you would want to also when you visit this little escape. Surprisingly, no one was there when we visited. I guess when a place is surrounded by corporate buildings that don’t operate on Sundays, that shouldn’t come as too much of a surprise.

Leave a Reply

