The Web We Weave.

TJ Maxx top, Gap shorts, J.Crew belt

It is a known fact by my peers that The Social Network is definitely one of my most favorite movies that has been released within the past few years. So it comes as no surprise that I absolutely adore the actors that portray the main characters in the movie, especially the very handsome Andrew Garfield. When news circulated that he would be portraying Spiderman in The Amazing Spiderman, I knew I had to watch the feature as soon as possible.  I headed to the Bob Bullock Museum IMAX theater by campus this afternoon to finally see if the hype was worth the $10 ticket.

All rights reserved. No copyright infringement intended.

Because I am a college student, the IMAX 3D experience to watch the movie was only $10, so I thought to myself why the hell not? Overall, the movie would have been just as good in 2D as in 3D; there were not enough 3D effects for it to really make a difference. Peter Parker (Garfield) is a little more on the angry and awkward side than the Spiderman movie that came out several years ago with Toby McGuire. Before the movie, there is definitely going to be a sense of need to compare The Amazing Spiderman to McGuire’s Spiderman; don’t do it. In my opinion, if one avoids comparing this movie to the previous, there will surely be a slight sense of disappointment. As for the romance between Gwen (Emma Stone) and Peter (Garfield), there is just enough chemistry for the movie, but not as much natural chemistry as I would have liked to see. Overall, I thought it was worth the $10, but I wouldn’t sit through it more than once – that’s just my opinion.

One thing I almost forgot to mention: the film score was quite fabulous. Props to the flute player that played great marcato notes throughout the suspenseful parts and the French horn was just the right amount of strong. I will most likely be purchasing the soundtrack if I remember to search for it on iTunes.

Leave a Reply

