Hard Work.

This summer I was given the opportunity to be an Orientation Advisor for the University of Texas. Needless to say, I didn’t know what I was getting myself into. All I knew was at the end of the day, it was going to be a wonderful experience, I was going to meet a diverse group of people, and learn more than I could ever expect to learn. After two orientation sessions, I can honestly say I can’t imagine doing anything else this summer.

Aside from the wonderful OA experience, I have been internship hunting for the upcoming fall semester. The amount of cover letters I have written and applications I have e-mailed is ridiculous. Luckily, I have had some success and have two in person interviews next week. The internship application process in high school seemed so much simpler than the current one. Instead of competing for unpaid internships that the school district or high school internship program picked out, I had to find companies on my own. The hard part? Finding companies that will take a chance on an incoming sophomore in college over the upperclassman. Sure I’m young, but I like to believe that age shouldn’t play that much of a factor. I have prior experience and I am beyond driven.

Which brings me to my next point. What I have learned on my journey to eventually becoming a PR so far is that never let age be a factor. Sure companies are not allowed to hire certain students because of company age restrictions and payroll guidelines. However, I like to avoid announcing to the world that I am only a second year in college. Instead, I emphasize my past experiences, what I have learned in the classroom, and how I can translate all my skills towards an internship. At the end of the day, if they don’t hire me, then it just means that I’m not meant to intern for that company at the moment. I am convinced that someone will take a chance on me. Success cannot be achieved without hard work, and a few obstacles along the way.

Fun fact: I randomly made the quote picture via Photoshop CS 6. The quote is by David Bly.

Leave a Reply

