Speak Now.

Ralph Lauren Button-Up, J.Crew Skirt, Kate Spade Wallet, Lucky Brand Watch

I went to listen to a professional woman speak last night and sported this outfit. I feel like I’m always trying to find excuses to wear business casual, and am possibly one of the very few who actually get excited about “dressing up.” For example, tonight, my best guy friend and I are heading out for some “legit” sushi and are dressing up, simply for the sake of wanting to look nice. Yes, the restaurant is a nice one, but I’ve seen people simply wear a polo and jeans there also.

On another note, I’d like to express my comments towards professional speaker events. Sometimes the speakers are really good and interactive, and sometimes, they really aren’t – to put it nicely. Even when someone from outside of my preferred industry is speaking at an event, I try my best to pay attention because there is usually one piece of advice that is valuable. What I don’t like is when speakers are closed minded, do not promote the value of an education, and inform the audience that you can only succeed if you follow their path to success.

I’m a firm believer in figuring out success in your own manner. Everyone has their own story or will have their story to tell when someone asks for advice. I’m also a believer in the fact that hard work, a good education, and patience can go a long way.

Leave a Reply

