The LBD.

The little black dress: the ultimate staple to any girls wardrobe and mine is no different. I have worn this dress to every event you could possible imagine. Around noon today, I sported this dress with my lucky pearls and ventured to the Career Fair hosted by my college’s career services.

Rampage LBD, Macy's Pearls

I guess since I mentioned the career fair, I must present a few things I’ve learned within my very few years of experience in networking.

ACQUIRE ALL THE BUSINESS CARDS.
I’m sure by now all of y’all have seen that meme that has a man shouting at the world, imagine that, but with the above statement. If business cards were currency, then I’d be a very wealthy college student – unfortunately, I’m just a broke college student. Nevertheless, a business card is a great item to receive from a professional. Business cards usually list an e-mail address, phone number, and the address of the office. Which means: you can send the contact an e-mail, mail them a hand written thank you note, or if you’re lucky, visit the office and shadow your contact one day.

HAVE A PORTFOLIO.
When meeting a professional, don’t carry your resume in the binder you used for your previous class. Mine is just a basic black one with the University’s seal on the front. It’s sleek and professional, and I use it whenever I have a networking or career based event.

Hopefully in a few years, when I graduate, all of this networking and stress will be worth it, but for now I will network with everyone. And, I secretly enjoy it because I have met some of the most amazing people ever. So for those who believe that public relations is a dying industry, I don’t believe you – it is not. If anything, it is constantly growing, you just have to find it and have the drive to find the perfect place to work.

Leave a Reply

