Post Christmas Retail.

Hi, I’m Vi and I have successfully survived an 8 hour shift at a retail store on the day after Christmas – one of the busiest days of the year for retail stores. Win. Aside from the fact that my legs hurt, I think this has definitely been one of the less stressful Day after Christmas retail cashier experiences I’ve had. When I arrived at 11:00 AM to begin my shift, I underestimated the potential amount of customers that could enter the store. However, by the time the clock turned 2:00 PM, a sea of customers eager to snatch up deals and return unwanted Christmas presents lined up in a formation equivalent to Black Friday sale days. By the end of my shift, I was ready to tackle my own quest for post Christmas deals, but unfortunately, found myself sifting through piles of clothing and accessories that did not fit my taste or simply, my size.

I did however, manage to find a few gems in the endless piles of rubbish and spent only a mere $20 or so on everything. That’s what I call a successful shopping trip due to my minimal college student budget and income.

Old Navy bag for the days when I only have one or two classes and dread carrying my backpack in its entirety, cozy socks for the days when my dorm room decides to turn into a freezer (Old Navy), the essential gloves for the winter (Old Navy), new Face Stockholm nail polish (J.Crew) and a new headband for my already extensive collection from J.Crew. Overall, I would have liked to be able to have more time to purchase new items and take advantage of the sales, but all in all, I found my purchases to be useful and worthy of money spent.

Leave a Reply

