Following the Crowd

One of the main observations I have made since the first day of my advertising class this semester is that everyone – or it feels likes everyone – owns a Macbook or a Macbook Pro. At first I was hesitant of the idea of even purchasing a Macbook, simply because of the price. After researching the current course catalog for my PR degree, I realized the majority of my courses were advertising courses and designing on a Macbook of some form was almost required.According to my Consumer Behavior textbook, the consumer purchasing process involves acknowledgement of a problem (I don’t own a Macbook and I need one), followed by research of the product and comparing of prices. It is evident to all my peers that I am a huge fan of Amazon, so it comes as no surprise that the first place I ventured was the Amazon website. Apparently a regular Macbook with the Snow Leopard update is not as damaging to the college student budget as I originally thought. Actually, the price of a refurbished Macbook is less expensive than the cost of some PC laptops. If Black Friday during Thanksgiving break doesn’t provide me with a Macbook deal comparable to Amazon, Cyber Monday will be the day I order my new Macbook. Words cannot describe just how excited I am for this purchase.

Leave a Reply

